Skip to content

Dehydrating Basics

January 21, 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADrying food has been around for many years, and is easier than ever with modern food dehydrators. I’m partial to my Excalibur – a bit more money to invest but a thermostat that makes doing meats safer.

Here’s some good ideas for basics of drying:

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2014 9:00 PM

    I keep saying that I’m going to dehydrate my own tomatoes and fruits…it sure does seem easy enough! I should just try it out. Are there any small units that you recommend for a tiny kitchen?

    • January 23, 2014 9:40 PM

      The Excalibur – tiny kitchens may be a challenge, but the temperature settings allow for safer jerky as well as herbs, onions, potatoes and other things. They stand behind their products too. There are table top brands that are cheaper, but having run them side by side I really prefer the Excalibur. I have a round table top – believe it’s a Magic Chef – and it works, but sometimes there’s hot spots where one side is warmer than the other. That isn’t an issue with the Excalibur.Just my experience. 🙂 No it’s not hard. If you’re a dry climate, there’s screened hangers too you can use that are non electric. Not recommended for jerky but for herbs etc it’ll work.

      • January 24, 2014 9:00 PM

        Living in coastal Florida, I’d say we have mega humidity! I guess an electric unit would be the best bet. Thank you so much for the information! I really appreciate the thoughtful response.

      • January 25, 2014 9:01 AM

        🙂 Yes you’ll definitely like the Excalibur. Safety is big.

Leave a Reply

